SAIEG Awards

We have been revamping the SAIEG awards portfolio and although the process is not complete, we can announce the following.

The SAIEG Student Award

This award will be awarded annually to recognise the top students at the University of Kwazulu-Natal and the University of Pretoria, who completed their professional degree in engineering geology during the previous calendar year. The award will therefore be made to a maximum of 2 students each year. The award is based on the academic averages of the students in their Honour’s year.

The nominations will be requested from the head of the Engineering Geology Honours program at both Universities by the SAIEG Council Awards Portfolio manager at the end of each academic year and the recipients will be decided on by the SAIEG Council.

The award will be presented at a suitable event hosted by the relevant University and will include the following:

  • An award certificate
  • 1 year complimentary candidate membership with SAIEG
  • A SAIEG geological pick
  • An invitation to the SAIEG Gala Dinner where the award will be handed over again.

This award is now different from the previous student award in that MSc students are no longer eligible. Only Students finishing professional degree (i.e. BSc Hons.).

New Post Graduate Award

SAIEG will be announcing the details of a new post-graduate award early in 2018. The award will be for the best MSc and PhD Students. Keep an eye on the 2018 newsletters for more details.

These two awards will be part of the portfolio of awards, which also includes the ABA Brink Award, the SAIEG Gold Medal and the VP award. See the SAIEG website for more details.