SAIEG Gold Medal Award

SAIEG Gold Medal Award

Previous recipients of the SAIEG Gold Award

2021 – Not awarded

2020 – Dr. GV Price

2019 – Mr. Tony A’Bear

2018 – Dr. Phil Paige-Green

2017 – Dr. Peter Day

2016 – Mr. M. Bènet

2015 – Not awarded

2014 – Mr. J. de Beer

2013 – Mr. I. Venter

2012 – Mr. P. Terbrugge

2011 – Mr. Oliver Barker

2010 – Not awarded

2009 – Dr. F. Wagener

2008 – Dr. H.J. Olivier and Mr. W. van der Merwe

2007 – Dr. J.P. Venter and Mr. M. Mountain

2006 – Dr. A.A.B. Williams and Prof. T.C. Partridge

2005 – Prof. A. van Schalkwyk and Dr. F. Netterberg

2004 – Prof. A.B.A. Brink and Dr. R.R. Maud

The awards criteria and the procedures to be followed for the awarding thereof are as follows:

SAIEG Gold Medal Award

This award is the premier award of the Institute and the following criteria apply:

  • The award is given in recognition of outstanding lifelong service by an individual to the profession of Engineering Environmental Geology in South Africa.
  • This award is awarded to a senior member of SAIEG. In exceptional circumstances the award may be presented to a person who is not a member.
  • The award is a certificate and an engraved gold medal made for the purpose.

The procedure is as follows:

  • The nominations will be proposed and considered by the SAIEG Council.
  • The SAIEG Council will evaluate proposals and motivations received.
  • The award will be presented at an appropriate Institute function.